Olympic UK Visitors to Gain Automatic Entry to Ireland

From 1 July 2011 until October 2012, nationals from India, China and 12 other countries visiting the UK on a tourist visa will be able to visit neighbouring Ireland without the need for a visa.

This visa waiver programme was announced in Dublin by Ireland’s Justice and Defence Minister Alan Shatter and coincides with the 2012 Olympics to be held in London. The programme will also see the €60 visa application fee being dropped for the period.

The programme was introduced in the hopes that it will bring much needed tourism revenue to Ireland’s ailing economy.

The fourteen countries included in the visa waiver programme are Bahrain, Belarus, China, India, Kuwait, Montenegro, Qatar, Russia, Saudi Arabia, Serbia, Turkey, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates and Uzbekistan.

, ,