Changes to UK immigration rules as of 1 July 2013

A number of minor changes to the Immigration Rules came into effect on Monday the 1st of July 2013. Those of importance centre around work, student and settlement rules.

In a press release, the Home Office mentioned the following changes:

  • There have been a few changes to the documents required for approved English language tests
  • Minor updates and clarifications were made to the family immigration rules
  • Amendments were made to the lists of financial institutions in Bangladesh and Ghana from which documents can be verified
  • More countries added to the list of those requiring tuberculosis screening, which now includes:
    • China
    • Cameroon
    • Ethiopia
    • Gambia
    • Hong Kong
    • Indonesia
    • Macau
    • Malawi
    • Morocco
    • Sierra Leone
    • Uganda
    • Vietnam
    • Zambia
  • Adjustments have been made to the resident labour market test exemption for supernumerary researchers in Tier 2 (General)
  • Religious worker (Tier 4) extension applications no longer need a resident labour market test
  • More legal courses are to be exempt from the time-limit on study for Tier 4 student visa applicants

If you have any questions related to UK immigration laws, visit or email us at