The UK wants more Australian and New Zealand youths

There’s good news for prospective travellers from Australia and New Zealand, as the UK has raised the annual visa allocation for both countries under their Youth Mobility Scheme.

The Youth Mobility Scheme replaced what was previously known as the UK Working Holiday Visa programme.

Since January 2016, the number of Tier 5 (Youth Mobility Scheme) visas available has been increased by 20% for Australians and 9% for New Zealanders.

The annual allocation of places for 2016 is as follows:

Australia: 45,500 places
New Zealand: 12,000 places
Canada: 5,000 places
Japan: 1,000 places
Monaco: 1,000 places

This visa is only available to those with a valid passport, aged between 18 and 30, from the selected countries. These requirements are presented on a points-based system, with a total score of 50 points required in order for applications for the Tier 5 visa to be successful.

These points are broken down as follows:

  1. Nationality – 30 points
    The applicant must be a national of a country participating in the Youth Mobility Scheme.
  2. Age – 10 points
    To score points under this section, applicants will need to be between 18 and 30 years of age.
  3. Funds – 10 points
    Applicants need to show they have at least £1,890 in their personal bank account.

The Tier 5 (Youth Mobility Scheme) visa is only available for single use, with successful applicants unable to apply for this visa when it has been granted previously.

If the visa is granted it will allow the holder to leave and enter the UK at any time during their stay. Tier 5 visa holders are entitled to live and work in the UK for up to two years, subject to certain additional eligibility requirements.

Ready to start your UK adventure? Not only can we help you with your visa, but our Kickstart Package will make sure you hit the ground running when you land. Questions? Give us a shout.

, , , ,